Showing posts with label brunch. Show all posts
Showing posts with label brunch. Show all posts

Friday, October 24, 2014

Baby Poo and Breakfast Pizza's at Parlour

Newborns poop. Lots. Sometimes in the region of 10 poo's a day. Baby Jack thought it would be so much more fun to go 15-20 times a day. It was pretty much just a constant flow. (I know, great opening for a food blog). But the redeeming factor of newborn poo is that it is non-aromatic. So there is this honeymoon period, between when their poo's slow down to 1-2 per day and it doesn't stink.  It's a small window but it's just oh so special. 

During this time it is also great to take your kid out to restaurants. They sleep 90% of the time. They are generally quite quiet (generally). They can't walk yet. And their early wake-up times make getting into restaurants a breeze because there isn't a line-up at the crack of dawn. 

With options being limited for decent brunch in Yaletown where you can watch football, I didn't have high hopes for Parlour. I had been there previously for dinner and wasn't impressed with the pizzas or the service - think Coachella spaz born post 1994. But I was pleasantly surprised by brunch. Just put an egg on it man.






Ps. Go Chargers

The Parlour on Urbanspoon

Sunday, October 6, 2013

Burrata vs Sex

I've been busy, getting married and shit. And do you know what marriage is the perfect excuse for? Eating burrata. For breakfast. You spend your wedding night at the Georgia Hotel and the next morning you wake up in marital bliss, roll out of bed, and slum your way down to Hawksworth for brunch.

This one was the fancy shit, with prosciutto, balsamic reduction, fresh figs, walnuts, and olive oil marshmallows. I'd say it's better than sex but I'd be lying.

Monday, February 28, 2011

Mexican Brunch at the Waldorf

I love Mexican food whole-heartedly. My addiction to La Taqueria, my annual Mexican!Burrito!Birthday!Bash!, and my zombie-apocalypse stockpile of refried beans are all evidence of this. Not surprisingly, I was excited to try the Mexican Brunch at the recently renovated Waldorf Hotel. Mexican brunch is a fantastic idea, it has such great potential, which is why I was so sad to see it executed poorly. Maybe things aren't running smoothly yet, or they were having an off day, or our server was missing her frontal lobe; whatever the reason, it just didn't quite come together. The Leeteg room is cool-ish, I guess. The 50's design feels cold and uninspiring. Especially compared to the ultra-rad Tiki Lounge downstairs, (where I can fully imagine having an exotic, albiet blurry, night of festivities).


As for the food I had the Molletes, an open-faced Portugese bun baked with black beans, bacon, and cheese, and topped with eggs. Other than the bacon being both over-baked and burnt, it was generally tasty.


This is the Mexican Hangover Cure, Chilaquiles: crispy corn quarters with cheese, black beans, green and red chile salsas, and chorizo. Even though I fully understand that in an authentic preparation the tortilla-esq chips become softened in the chile salsa; on the menu they are described as being "Crispy Corn Quarters!", and are nothing of the sort. Even if I take into consideration that the color comes from a combination of the red and green salsas, I can't get past the fact that it looks like vomit. The texture of the soaked tortillas was not the least bit appealing and it was an unnecessarily huge portion that inevitably got wasted.

The Leeteg Room at the Waldorf Hotel on Urbanspoon